Armando, Climax and Mahesh win I-League awards

Published: 17 June 2012
Ranty Martins bags double award

The I-League player award winners' were recently announced by the AIFF in New Delhi and current I-League champions Dempo Sports Club staked a claim to 5 out of the 6 laurels up for grabs.

Dempo striker Ranti Martins who recently moved to Prayag United scooped the player of the tournament and best forward award. Ranti finished as the top goal scorer in the I-League this season with 32 goals.

Dempo's Armando Colaco was voted coach of the year after battling his way back from illness midway through the season to make a magnificent comeback and guide his side to win their third I-league crown in five seasons and record breaking fifth Indian title in eight years.  

Dempo captain Mahesh Gawli picked up the best defender award and Climax Lawrence walked away with the best midfielder trophy.

Salgaocar goalkeeper Karanjit Singh took home the best goalkeeper cup, after impressing with his brave displays under the bar.

The awards were voted by all the coaches and captains of the respective I-league clubs.




24th Nov 2014 4:00 pm

Dempo SC vs Salgaocar FC Duler

Latest Results
22nd Nov 2014

Sporting Clube 3 - 0 Calangute